Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Word 2000 - how to clean a document of styles, macro's and other code?

Status
Not open for further replies.

STU1979

Technical User
Mar 5, 2002
GB
I'm getting a number of documents that crash work. After taking the content into wordpad and then back again all is fine. I'm not an expert but maybe there is embedded code, styles or something else? So can anyone offer maybe a macro that cleans the document of crap?!

We need more detail than that.

Please clarify: "I'm getting a number of documents that crash work. "

Word crashes? Your whole computer crashes? Do you get any error messages? If so, what are they?

" So can anyone offer maybe a macro that cleans the document of crap?! "

Possibly yes, no, definitely yes...except you had better clearly, explicitly, define "crap".

faq219-2884

Gerry
My paintings and sculpture

Ctrl+A, Ctrl+Q, Ctrl+Spacebar. That will remove direct formatting and revert everything back to their underlying styles.

However, opening and saving in WordPad does much more. To get close to that you will need to also apply NORMAL style. It will have drastic results.

What it won't succeed mimicking is if the document is corrupt, WordPad wll have removed that corruption and it is unlikely that the above actions will have that affect. But they may be more subtle and do what you need.

Regards: tf1

Hi tf1,

Of course, that pre-supposes there's a style problem and that's what's causing the document to 'crash'.

So far, the OP hasn't described the actual problem at all - only that taking a shotgun approach to the document cures whatever the problem is.

Maybe one of the solutions here: