Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Withdrawal of MS Access by Organisation, "replacing" with Business Objects - Some Key Ques 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

NWildblood

Technical User
Nov 12, 2007
GB
Hi, an open question regarding functionality of BO.

My (large) organisation is finally upgrading from Windows 2003 to 2010. However, although we have had no clear communication on this, it is widely expected that MS Access will not be part of the Windows suite (due to cost / maintenance.)

I am gobsmacked to learn this as I am a data analyst, and I use MS Access for a number of ad-hoc, large volume but "quick and dirty" data processing tasks, typically using a combination of VBA and SQL.

The rather vapid response I have had (within an Asset Data Management environment...) is that Business Objects (which we already use for a number of querying and reporting tasks) will "replace ms access"

Although there are probably too many Access DBs across the organisation doing business as usual tasks, my fear is that the assumption that has been made is that Access is only being used for such tasks, so, Sorry for such a greenhorn question but:

Is it possible to import data sets and set up and run ad hoc tasks using VBA and SQL ??.
If so, there is scant info about it on the web.
If not, should I simply face-palm and consider getting another job ?
(The latter question is rhetorical)

Any insight-bringing responses gratefully received - thank you !

No hay nada como un buitre cabrón como un ojo de cristal.