Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Wireless Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

TDKMan

MIS
Jun 2, 1999
US
I would like to get some input from the field on setting up a Wireless Environment.

The task at hand is to provide to users a way of submitting data to a server from anywhere/anytime. I have been brainstorming our options, but would like your input as well (I am no expert at wireless technologies).

This is what I was thinking (Your options are appreciated):
Each user has a PDA Device with the software loaded on it that will be used to enter the confidential information. The information on the PDA must then be transmitted to a server for upload. Our headquartes would then retrieve that information and review it. That's it, it seems simple to managers but I feel it is going to be alot more compicated.

Here are my questions then: If I set up a server in our DMZ, how will the PDA be able to transmit the data to it? Wireless I assume, but is it similar to connecting to the internet via a pc with a cable modem? I know wireless is not secure, but what about VPN Tunneling the information through a DMZ firewall to the server in the DMZ? Would it then be safe to upload the data through our company firewall from the DMZ to an internal server?

As you can see, I am pretty much clueless on how to get this to work properly. Any help, would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Joe Joe

Joe,