Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Windows Update?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Guilo

Technical User
Nov 15, 2002
US
Hi,
I have a question about windows update so please forgive me if this is not the best forum.
I am a computer tech and I have 9 locations that I have to travel to. Each location has anywhere from 5-300 computers and the smaller locations have a 64K connection.
I was wondering if there is a way I can run the windows update on my laptop so when I plug it in to the network at each location it will let me know exactly which updates are needed. Being able to do this would save me a lot of time.

Thank you all.

Guilo

Microsoft has a utility called the "Baseline Security Anylyzer"
You can use it to check the security updates/hotfixes on your local machine, remote machine and multiple remote machines at one time. You can install it on your laptop, and connect to the network in question and anilyze the computers in question. Also does SQL and IIS.

Seeing that some locations have a slow connection and high number of clients I would suggest using the Software Update Services Server. A server assumes the role of making connections to windows update, downloads the critical updates and then acts as an internal distribution point. Your clients would query your internal SUS server for updates. Therefore reducing traffic across your slow connection - 1 computer using it for updates, the others querying that 1 computer - and still allowing the others the ability to update without killing your bandwidth.

Hewissa

MCSE, CCNA, CIW