Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Windows 2000 connectivity issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

hocking

Technical User
Apr 21, 2002
US
This is my first time posting to this group, so I hope I am following all the rules correctly. I have a Windows 2000 network at home, consisting of a Windows 2000 advanced server & several windows 2000 professional desktops and laptops. All the computers are networked using Linksys 10/100 NICs, and are connected to a Linksys cable router. The cable router is currently the DHCP server. The server was primarily acting as a FTP server, and as a file server to map drives to, and all the PCs have been part of a workgroup. I have my files located in the server, and have been able to sucessfully map a drive from any of the PCs to the server. I have been trying to work toward having the server be the domain controller for the PCs. I have setup an account on the sever so that I can join the PCs to the domain. I am able to join my laptop and my desktop to the domain, but with many difficulties. When I enter my username and password from one of the PCs, and hit enter, it takes almost three minutes to connect. I don't understand this, because the server and the PCs are pretty fast, and the network is a 10/100 switched network. I have even connected a PC directly to the sever, through a 10/100 switch, taking the router out of the equation, and this delay login still occurs. Then once I am on the domain, I am unable to browse any of the PCs on the network, from either network neighborhood, or from UNC'ing to it from a command prompt. When I have the PC connect as part of a
workgroup, I am able to browse to, and open any PC on my