Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Win2k Server (machine specific) Printing issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

CSCFWAdmin

Technical User
Mar 26, 2003
US
I'm a domain admin and have a Win2k server SP3 (Compaq ML350). Whenever I try to setup a network printer (on our print server), It shows the following message "Access denied, unable to connect". This appears to be machine specific. Domain users can setup a network printer from any other machine and OS, with no problem. I can set them up from any other machine without issue.
I also noticed that when I make a UNC connection to the print server from this particular machine, that the printer shares are visible, but the actual printers under the printer folder are not.
This worked at one time, and I have reservice packed the server
I've been running this problem by everyone I meet for about 6 months, anybody got an idea?

What printer is this?
if its an Epson Acculaser then i know it MCSE NT&2K
CCNA/CCDA
CNA
ASE
NSP

There are 200 printers of different types on the print server. Only my machine (which happens to be a Win2k Server too) is having an issue, which is that nobody can print from it, regardless of which of the printers are selected. I have to set up printers on another machine, in order to print.
I'm just about to the point of reloading it, but I really don't want to do that.

Have you checked spooler service is running?

I had a problem werby once i had installed a certain driver which included a monitoring program--it casued ever other pinter including that one to hang and not print.
when this certain driver was re-installed it would crash the spooler service.