Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Will this be easy

Status
Not open for further replies.

briggsy79

Programmer
Feb 23, 2001
SE
Hi all (im new to these parts of town)
A computer technician has asked to look at a database, and see if i could create one like it (but better) in SQL. I have never used SQL before and even had trouble installing it - i have win2000 prof (and SQL server 2000 standard edition).
He wants this database to get data from an electronic testing device. After the results of each test are gathered the database will analyse cetain values, and see if numbers are decreasing at a certain rate etc etc.

My main question is will a person with no real SQL knowledge (except for the SQl comands used in creating databases with a VB front end) be able to create such a database? Obviously i will do some research on the net, and also find as many books as possible, but could i create it?

Thank you so much, i know the question is very vague but even pointing me in the right starting direction will be of great benefit.

-David

How simple this will be for you will depend in part on what type of databases you've been using for your back end in the past. If you are familiar with something like Oracle, you should be able to changeover failry quickly. But if you have been using Access for your back-end, you will have a lot of totally new concepts to deal with (I know because this is where I came from).

You'll still need to build a front end and your visual basic skills are fine for that. You'll want to call stored procedures rather than send sql statements (Stored procedures run faster), but that too is relatively simple to learn to call from the vb code.