Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Will Seagate 0005 firmware work in FC5600?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ghaun

Technical User
Dec 6, 2007
US
Hello,

I am new to Fibre Channel in general. I originally picked up a Dell 650f and 3 630f. I believe that the 650f is an FC5600?

I also purchased 40 ST336704FC drives separately. I then learned that I need flare. I purchased another 650f with original 18GB drives and am hoping to use these drives to copy flare to my 36GB drives.

I believe that I need to update the drives to work in the array, so I direct-connected a 630f (non-raid) as just a JBOD in order to allow for changing mode pages and fixing the format. Well it turns out that the drives are all 520 bock size already, so I just changed the mode pages.

Here comes the big question, as I seem to be stumped. I put everything back in the 5600 and booted with the 18GB flare drives. Everything started up fine, I entered FCLI mode and removed all LUNs, etc. The 36GB drives showed up as "Unsupported". These drives have the correct mode page settings and block size; though, the firmware is listed as 0005. I'm guessing that this is the problem. Why would the drives have been 520, yet have a generic 0005 firmware? The 0005 firmware is generic, yes??? Finally, how do I update the firmware? I downloaded the DE84 firmware from Dell's site to upload. They are .fdf files; though the downloads fail. I am using SCSIToolBox and it fails with a sense key of 0x05, coded of 0x26, ASQ of 0x99.

I am hoping that somebody can help me out with this.

Thanks so much!!!