Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Why VoIP

Status
Not open for further replies.

gwmyers

Technical User
Oct 13, 2011
US
Management believes we should go VoIP. I must admit I am not a big proponent.
Could someone please provide reasons to go VoIP.
Also, reasons to not go VoIP.

Thanks in advance

I have been a phone tech for 34 years and I don't have a good answer for you. Your management doesn't have a clue other than they heard it's the cool thing to do. The advantages would be,

1. Less equipment to maintain
2. Wiring infrastructure would be less
3. IT could manage phone system, maybe
4. Less of a foot print for equipment

Disadvantages
1. Network goes down so do the phones
2. Network switches may need to be upgraded for Layer 3, QOS and POE
3. IT could manage phone system
4. Your out of a job

Find out their reasons why they think they need to go VoIP and make sure they are valid. Most people think it is going to be a lot cheaper as you will get rid of all your voice lines. That is not so in most cases and those you do get rid of you have to be replaced by building up your network. The big savings begin to shrink from that point of view.
One of the biggest bangs for the buck, if you have multiple locations, is that you can serve them all off one switch/PBX/Call Manager instead of multiple, which saves money on maintenance costs, one upgrade for all instead of multiple for each system and there are some savings in reducing your lines.
The biggest negative, as KCFL ... stated, if your network goes down, you lose everything. Also up front costs are relatively huge, unless you are dealing with a hybrid PBX or similar.