Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Why Opera over Netscape? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

pbexpress

MIS
Apr 26, 2000
US
I have little experience with browsers outside of Netscape and Internet Explorer. What it the benefit/drawback of using Opera browser?

Java script doesn't show up to well, but other than that it is actually not to bad. <p>Sherwin B. Seed<br><a href=mailto:s_seed@hotmail.com>s_seed@hotmail.com</a><br><a href= Kingdom</a><br>I am starting my own business called SMAN Sales & Service. you can check out our products at this is a temporary business site untill we get our full scale website up. if there is not much on this website it is becouse we ar

1) Speed
2) Security
3) Specifications

For me this is the best browser of the lot.

I did not believe this either, but if you open three seperate windows in Opera, at the same time you can download files in all three windows! It does not crash, it just works.

1) Speed
2) Security

These are the two main draws

Being able to download from seperate multiple sites files at the same time and it just works is another plus point

In my experience Opera is faster than both IE and Netscape. Not only that, but I am able to download 2 or more files simultaneously in Opera, without problems. If I am disconnected Opera allows me to resume the download without having to start all over again.

I also have less &quot;crashes&quot; running Opera than with either IE or Netscape.

The only problem I have encountered is that while Opera V4.02 handles &quot;javascript&quot; with ease, the latest version, Opera V5.01, will not allow a number of javascript sections to run (seemingly mostly related to passwords)