Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Why is my SUM not working? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

jw970170

Programmer
Aug 8, 2005
Hello,

I am very new to crystal reports. I'm trying to make a formula that sums by month. This is what I have

sum({table.Value},{table.TimeStamp}, "monthly")

The problem is that it is not summing correctly. Here is the data I am using

5/15/2004 4:30:00 AM 44190
6/20/2004 4:30:00 AM 40100
5/15/2004 4:31:00 AM 50000
7/15/2004 4:31:00 AM 75000

The report is grouped by month. On the May page, it sums both may and june to give 188380

On the june month it gives 80200 (which doesn't even make sense...it seems to somehow be grabbing data from another table)

I should probably mention that I've tried to include two tables in my report but not have them linked. It gave me some warning when doing this but let me continue

Ok, I have a field from two different tables just displayed on the main report. When I delete the field from the second table, it sum's the first tables contents correctly. When I add the field back, it includes it in the sum for some reason. Any ideas?

I just checked the SQL statement for the report. It is linking the tables. Is it possible to undo this?

Ok, here is the SQL. I can't tell what if it is combining the results into one table (which would explain the summation problem) or if it is in two separate tables

SELECT "Table1"."TimeStamp", "Table1"."Value"
FROM "ADMKRS"."dbo"."Table1" "Table1"

SELECT "Table2"."Value"
FROM "ADMKRS"."dbo"."Table2" "Table2

Not sure what version of Crystal you are using but the following will work in 8.5 and I assume it works the same way or very similar in 9 and newer.