Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Who thinks VC++ IDE/debugger is not good?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jms137

Programmer
Oct 6, 2002
GB
Hello coders.

I am fairly new to VC++ from a Java background. My impressions of the VC++6 IDE are very poor.

1) The debugger is not good. It constantly fails to recognize the area where the problem is and displays incorrect debugging hints. I have had it display about 10 assorted errors for something as simple as a missing ".". The one in the jdk is far, far superior. It is very precise compared to this.

2) The way the error messages appear is hard to read. They should be formatted better.

3) I CONSTANTLY get "cannot save, this file is in use by another application" type messages for NO reason!. It is pathetic.

My main gripe is with he innacurracy of the debugger. Anyone who has used Borland JBUilder or the jdk will recognize this. I am considering getting Borland C Builder and trying to import the MFC classes.

I wondered what everyone else thought of the IDE, I am curious! Please let me know.

regards,

john

I get the "cannot save, this file is in use by another application" messages all the time too. This seems to happen more on some days than others.
I personally think the IDE is OK though I agree about the error messages. However, I do know that it's sometimes hard to get your head around working in different ways when you're so used to coding in a different language and environment. I got a copy of Visual J++ and found it hard to get used to the differences in the way things work in comparison to VC++ which I was so used.
It actually reached a point where I was thinking the same thing about J++ as your are about C++.