Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Who hates Bill Gates?

Status
Not open for further replies.

perlone

Programmer
May 20, 2001
US
If you do, why? I've seen 0 problems from him. ----------------------------------------
There is no Knowledge, That is not power.

Yes, i'm a MySQL Newbie.
E-mail: projectnet01@cs.com
Company:(not done yet) :)
-Aaron
----------------------------------------

It is the way that Microsoft conduct themselves as a business that annoys most people. I think it would be fair to say that they often copy their competitions ideas and then bury them. Examples are Windows 95 - Mac OS, Internet Explorer - Netscape Navigator, Windows NT - Novell Netware etc. etc. Microsoft are too larger a company and should be broken down like AT&T.

kerpow...
cleans up the market by eliminating the marginal producers that have good products. If not now, when?
If not here, where?
If not us, who?

Just do it!!

I think MS have an arrogant attitude but with good reason. At least with a large company the IT industry has standards and MS has made it possible for ordinary blokes like me to become programmers. I thank MS and if a little arrogance is the price to pay then so be it.

Exactly to both pivan and markbeeson. Marginal products need to be "bundled" through sonsolidation to make them truly useful by tacking them to a "standard". Standards is what it is all about. IT wouldn't be what it is today without the 90% penetration MS has that has spread a "standard". Without that standard, there's be a lot fewer of us because comnputing would be a LOT more expensive, because everything would have to be custom coded in every shop.

Jeff