Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Which Windows 10 is better for VFP 9? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

SitesMasstec

Technical User
Sep 26, 2010
BR
Desta colleagues:

I am going to buy a new computer to install the Visual FoxPro 9 software. (I am a developer).
Which version of Windows works better with VFP 9: 64 or 32 bits?

Thank you,
SitesMasstec

I've had no issue with VFP 9 on any version of Windows 10 (and I'm a Windows Insider Pro, I get all new releases of Windows months before the public does... none of them have broken VFP9 for me.

Best Regards,
Scott
MIET, MASHRAE, CDCP, CDCS, CDCE, CTDC, CTIA, ATS

"Everything should be made as simple as possible, and no simpler."[hammer]

If you buy a ne computer you don't have the choice of a 32bit CPU and so you install Windows 64bit.
But it doesn't matter, as there still isn't a pure 64bit system, you always have the 32bit subsystem.

Note: It's in SysWOW64 (System Windows32 On Windows64), not in System32, which is the 64bit system, which kept the System32 name for downward compatibility. (I'll always roll my eyes about this decision)

Look into your "old" pc, does it have a folder "C:\Windows\SysWOW64"? then you already have a 64bit CPU. 64bit CPUs are ancient in the fast world fo technology advances. This is even worse than dog years.

So forget about your 64bit fear, there is nothing to fear.

The 32bit/64bit gap is less important than you think.

1. RUN of 64 bit executables is totally possible, you start a new process, this has nothing to do with your process, the OS is involved only.