Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Where does the Mainframe fit in?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrobbo

Programmer
Sep 26, 2000
GB
I have a lot of experience in the Mainfraime Environment using Cobol CICS DB2 etc.. but also have Unix experience. I know many of the non .com startups use these kind of systems but how relevant is this likely to be in the future? [sig][/sig]

I would suggest that your question relates to both MainFrame and UNIX skills.

It seems to me that, over the next five years or so, we will be seeing more proprietary Internet and fewer Open Systems (or Open Source for that matter) solutions.

There.... That should get me flamed... [sig]<p>Mike<br><a href=mailto:michael.j.lacey@ntlworld.com>michael.j.lacey@ntlworld.com</a><br><a href= Cargill's Corporate Web Site</a><br>Making mistakes, so you don't have to. &lt;grin&gt;[/sig]

I actually learned and grew up on the mainframes but for 23 years now have been working with mid-range and for the last 10 unix servers. The speed, flexibility, robustness, cost, etc,etc,etc of the unix seems to address every question any of my clients have had and then some. I believe that the large legacy companies who have invested millions into mainframe development are keeping these systems so experience return from that huge investment. Perhaps (and this is already being done) is to allow the mainframe OS's and apps to run (in emulation) on the unix boxes. IBM already does with their OS/390 emulator on to op AIX.
So, bottom line from my point of view, is that why should any NEW design or development be performed for the mainframes?