Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

when to use beans

Status
Not open for further replies.

pigsie

Programmer
Dec 19, 2000
GB
Hi

I am new to JSP and am trying to figure out when to use beans. Basically I have a system where i would like to have some objects held in ram but instead of using beans i can use objects is there any reason to use one method over the other? Does one perform better than the other?

Thanks

Are you referring to JavaBeans or Enterprise JavaBeans. A standard JavaBean is just a plain Java class with getter and setter methods. This definitely suffices for most web only applications.

What would an Enterprise JavaBean be?? ________________________
JoelMac
ICQ#:48144432

I was referring to java beans for a web application

I cant see any advantages to using beans
over classes are there any?

Thanks

JavaBeans are just plain classes !!! jou only put some set and get methods in it to fill or read it's variables from your jsp.

As far as I know, Enterprise JavaBean (which came with J2EE) are classes that sit over a database connection, or maintain process information. You use them to get an extra level of structure (abstraction) in your application.

Yeah. A JavaBean IS a class. It is a specialized class. If you follow the rules for making JavaBeans it will make your life easier that just making the class your way. It does things for you. Example JavaBean:

public class MyString {

String str1;

public void setStr1(String s){str1 = s;}
public void getStr1(String s) {return str1;}
}

Now in your JSP you can use this:

<html><body>
<jsp:useBean name=&quot;MyString1&quot; class=&quot;MyString&quot;>