Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

When I boot up I get stuck at a grey screen with a small folder.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Guest_imported

Jan 1, 1970
I have a g3 400 B/w and when I turn it on it goes to a grey screen with a small folder in the middle that flashes a question mark and the apple face logo. I am new to macs and I do not know what to do! Please help asap!

Your Mac can't find a System folder to start up from. If you've got a CD with a system on you can start the Mac from that.
Insert CD. Switch Mac off. Switch on and hold down the C key. Your Mac should then start from the CD.
If that gets it going then the next problem is to find out why it can't find a System folder of its own.
try that and let's know what happens!

When I place the osx cd rom in the drive the system begins the installation process. If I attempt to reinstall the OS the system cannot find a destinatiion volume. If I restart without the cd I am back to the grey screen with the fold flashing with the ? and logo. IS it possible to just reformat the system and reinstall the os. I would imagine that would be best to just start fresh and clean. How would I go about reformating? I have absolutely no clue on what to do to fix this problem. I really would like to get my system up please help!!!!!

To reformat the drive, insert the orginal OS cd that came with the machine. Boot from that, place cd in at startup and hold down the 'c' key.