Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

What's the differnce in Windows 8, Windows 8 RT and a surface and a slate??? Total Newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

DougP

MIS
Dec 13, 1999
US
I want an inexpensive Windows Tablet that can get on the network/Domain. or do I? would leiker to be able to open Word/Excel etc on the domain. Needs WiFi?

Thanks any/all ideas welcome.
Is a Android a viable option?

DougP

What's the differnce in Windows 8, Windows 8 RT and a surface and a slate

Windows 8 implies the complete operating system for desktops and laptops.

Windows 8 RT is the tablet or mobile version of that same operating system.

Surface is the name of Microsoft's tablet with Windows 8.

A Slate is a more powerful tablet that can, via detachable accessories like a keyboard, transform into a laptop type device. They usually feature more powerful specs than regular tablets. Since Windows 8 is available for several platforms, its a way to differentiate between a tablet, and a laptop or convertible tablet/laptop, and the step in between.

I want an inexpensive Windows Tablet that can get on the network/Domain. or do I? would leiker to be able to open Word/Excel etc on the domain. Needs WiFi?

If you want a tablet that can connect to a Domain you'll want a x86 based Windows 8 Pro slate or convertible laptop/tablet rather than a standard tablet.

The Acer Iconia Tab W500 for instance, the Lenovo Thinkpad Tablet 2, etc...