Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

What to look for in a SAS Controller.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beholder2

Technical User
Sep 27, 2004
US
Hey I'm new to SAS and RAID, in fact I have no clue what RAID levels are or anything. Basically I'm going to have several SAS 10k 15k drives in a new system i'm putting together and don't know what to look for in a controller card. Not really concerned about compatibility with SATA/II but want something that can handle i/o from multiple drives as this system will act a workstation and a server. Any guidance would be great.
Cost isn't really an issue right now and I won't need support for more than 8 internal drives.
Rob

If price is no issue, and you're unsure about it, what about purchasing a prebuilt/preconfigured (retail) SAS setup?

As a matter of fact, they've reviewed several different setups and options for this sort of thing over at www.tomshardware.com . Try going there, and looking around or searching.

If you haven't come up with a solution yet, here are some good links that will just about exhaustively cover RAID setups.

Both of these appear a bit simplistic, but once you getting diggin, you find these are both very "deep" leveled web sites.

And of course, there is always Wikipedia:

Although these won't tell you which system setup is best, it does give you a good foundation of what you want to do.