Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

What is Status in VBA

Status
Not open for further replies.

ainemc76

Programmer
May 31, 2007
IE
Hi

Can anyone help, I am new at being a DBA and I am trying to adapt code for an audit trail in one on my DB's. I am getting a byRef type mismatch error on one of the lines. I know I need to declare what status is but I don't know what status is!!

Here is copy of code:
Option Compare Database
Dim bWasNewRecord As Boolean

Private Sub Form_AfterUpdate()
Call AuditEditEnd("Table Haematology Results-All Sites", "audTmpHaemo", "audHaemo", "Index", Nz(Me.Index, 0), bWasNewRecord)
End Sub

Private Sub Form_BeforeDelConfirm(Cancel As Integer, Response As Integer)
Call AuditDelEnd("audTmpHaemo", "audFupHaemo", status)
End Sub

Private Sub Form_BeforeUpdate(Cancel As Integer)
bWasNewRecord = Me.NewRecord
Call AuditEditBegin("Table Haematology Results-All Sites", "audTmpHaemo", "Index", Nz(Me.Index, 0), bWasNewRecord)
End Sub

Private Sub Form_Delete(Cancel As Integer)
Call AuditDelBegin("Table Haematology Results-All Sites", "audTmpHaemo", "Index", Nz(Me.Index, 0))
End Sub

You need to post the line that is causing the error and at least the sub or function line that is being called:

Sub/Function AuditDelBegin(TableName As String, ... ? ...)

You might also try doing a search throughout the "entire project" for "status" to see if it's listed elsewhere - in another module/sub/function. It could be a public variable that wasn't identified correctly..

And to help, we definitely need to see the code for the function, AuditDelBegin (as already stated).

--

"If to err is human, then I must be some kind of human!" -Me