Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

What is HOT-SWAP SCSI hard DRIVES?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vrcatherine

IS-IT--Management
Feb 2, 2003
US
Hi,

I am new to the networking/hardware.
Correct me if i am wrong.

What is HOT-SWAP SCSI hard DRIVES?

We have ordered a IBM server and while customizing
the server we said we need 2 hard drives.

1. 36gb SCSI HARD DRIVE
2. 36gb SCSI hard drive.

IBM 36.4 GB 10K rpm Ultra320 SCSI Hot-Swap HDD

Now today when we got the server and i was checking
the hard drives thru explorer. This is what i see.

C:\ 4GB for pre-loading windows 2000 server.

So i guess from the first hard drive they have used the
4GB for loading the OS.(windows 2000 server).

This is what i was seeing basically through windows
explorer.

I went through administration tools/computer management
and formatted the remaining 32GB from the first Drive
and name it as E:\

I dont see the 2nd hard drive in this management tools
Why is this ?

Do i have to do something else ?

As i am not sure what this HOT-SWAP drives do ?

Hot Swap drives are ones that are designed to be removed/installed while the system (or computer) is running ie. The power is on.

The disk might need to be configured in the SCSI interface. This is usually shown (and accessable) during the boot-up process of the computer. You will probably need to add the disk in this area before you can see it in the Windows environment.

If you provide the server manufaturer and exact model, you will probably gain more precise help.

Regards.