Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

what do i do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

haagar98

IS-IT--Management
May 10, 2000
GB
Visit site
Iam at a point in my career where I need to make some big decisions and was wondering if anybody could give any TIPS;<br>I have 1 years of work experience in IT as a IT auditor and a MBA in CIS. I want to make a switch to a systems analyst or IT consultant.<br>How do i go about it ? What skills do I need to add?<br>Is it essential to have prorgamming expierence for being IT consultant,I don't have any.<br>Iam concerned that do I have a future as a systems analyst/IT consultant even though I have not done any programming ?

If you are an IT auditor, I assume you work at a large company?<br><br>If so, please list (don't use their real names) the last 5 people who have left your department, how long they worked in the audit department, if they left the company or were transferred internally, and what kind of position they took.&nbsp;&nbsp;(Feel free to call them A-E.)<br><br>How many people work in the IT Audit department not including your manager or director.&nbsp;&nbsp;And, approximately how many thousands of employees does your company have.<br><br>I think once you tell us this information, we'll be able to help you a little better....<br><br>Ghost

When you say you have no programming experience, do you mean it's possible to get through an MBA (I guess you mean with a concentration in CIS? Or do you have a masters in CIS?) without taking any programming courses, or do you just mean you have no experience with programming in the workplace?