Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

What applications are being used

Status
Not open for further replies.

cerebalbore

Technical User
Mar 17, 2008
GB
Hi,

For my work, I've been asked to investigate creating an application that monitors what applications are 'active' on a PC for completing time sheets. So for example, from time hh:mm:ss until hh:mm:ss user was using SAP (application has focus), did nothing (PC was idle) for half an hour, then the user switched to Word at hh:mm:ss.

Using 'monitor', 'application', and 'active' in search terms gives me oodles of results, but nothing close to what I'm after.

I'm not new to .NET, but I'm no expert either, so would really appreciate some pointers.

Thanks,

Kat

I'm such a noob

Can you explain what the goal really is?

On the surface, this seems to be a very draconian and asinine idea to me. Sounds like a company trying to see you have to be active 100% of the time on a project but don't understand the concepts of meetings, paper and pencil time, etc... For example, if they are worried that someone is browsing the internet, there are better ways to track that for example.

Then you have also got to consider that your service to monitor this would also be using CPU cycles affecting the numbers. And I would think a Windows Service would be the best way to handle this... but you don't want the service to be running real time or that will affect the system a lot...

Walt
Ciber/NES

OK.