Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

WEIRD rights/access issue, anyone wanna help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

freddfish

IS-IT--Management
Mar 7, 2007
US
Howdy!
I am a new admin in a windows2k/2k3 AD environment. I have a user who needs access to a directory in order to run an application... basically, if he can create a file or folder in teh directory, the whole thing falls into place. Simple, right?

As an admin, I have fullcontrol in the dir, and can create a file. I have granted him the same rights based on his grp membership, AND his individual identity. No go, I can't create a file looged in as him.

I have turned off inheritance to no effect, thinking something restrictive was filtering down. I also created a test folder in the same directory as the real one, he can't create in that one either, I can.

What am I missing???

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me...

Fish

How are you setting the permissions?

Right click on My Computer > Manage and open Shared Folders.
Right click on the Folder you are trying to share and click on the security tab.

Verify that his ID and/or group membership is there.

You may also have to log off and log back on as him.

Make sure the user is not a member of a group that has DENY permissions set on the folder. Also, if the folder is a shared folder, you have to check both security on the folder and share permissions on the folder. I believe the most restrictive settings are the effective permissions.