Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Weekend Work

Status
Not open for further replies.

Miiike

IS-IT--Management
May 9, 2019
US
Hi All,

I'm new to this and I could use some advice!
I have a client who wants me and my team to start work at midnight on a Saturday. Is this normal?
I expect some weekend work, but this seemed extreme.
Would you accommodate this?

It comes down to how you quoted the job. I always specify in a quote the regular hours for my crews to ensure that if we encounter locked premises, due to failure of the client to ensure access, that we can still bill for the on-site hours. If atypical hours are requested, I call those out in detail to ensure proper access expectations. I also do so to ensure that I use the correct shift rates in my quote. If you quoted for after regular hours install (perhaps to minimize disruption to daytime operations of the client), then after hours is after hours. Hopefully you allowed for 3rd shift premiums.

Is it normal ? Well, yes. Not common, but still normal.
Would you accommodate this ? As long as what the client asks is not unethical, illegal, or in disregard of safety regs, then of course, YES. The client will be quoted, and have to pay, a premium for their special requests ... but that is how you make customer service work and score a profitable job.