Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Website front end on SQL database

Status
Not open for further replies.

PiMMeL

Technical User
Sep 29, 2002
CA
Hi,

I am fairly new to SQL but a friend asked me if I could research this. Since there are always helpfull people in this group I thought I would try it here first.

All I am looking for is a start on how to go about this. Is there some software package 3rd party or maybe something build into SQL Dev Server that would allow me to build a webinterface on the SQL database?

Thank you so much already,

Pim

What are you wanting to do? Display records from specific tables? Build a site based on values?

Cheers

Hi,

They have a SQL database with a frontend on it. I like to create a website with similar fileds as the front end where they can enter their data. They enter workorders, jobs, payroll etc in the program/database. Right now they would like to have laptops in the office where they can use them with the software and be updated ( this I got working) Now they like to be able to add entries to the database when they are offsite and then when they come back in they want to update the main database but I am afraid that more then 1 person will enter workorders that get a number attached to it so when they come back into the office and update the main database it will create problems i think if 2 people created a workorder with the same number. So I thought a website would be perfect. Life and direct updates.