Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Webserver SQL SELECT statement to AS400 via ODBC question

Status
Not open for further replies.

abacuscorp

Programmer
Aug 14, 2000
US
Good day all:

For starters, I’m not an SQL programmer. I have an inventory database file on a client’s as400 that is accessed within the building via an old RPGII program from the System/34 days. It is also accessed externally via a SELECT SQL statement on a web server via ODBC. It is externally defined for SQL, but is internally defined in the RPGII program. Converting the RPGII program is not an option, nor is it the cause of the problem I had.

A seldom used program in the system inserted a blank into a numeric field in one product record in the file, say PRODUCTX. The next occurrence of a SELECT statement for a product, say PRODUCTA, caused an error. It worked fine after I changed the blank to a number.

Observing this I came to believe that a SELECT statement must “touch” every record in the file in order to satisfy the selection criteria. This is a small 15,000 record file and the website response time hasn’t been awful. Is this observation correct? If so, what do people do with large files? Would creating a logical over the physical, then have SQL query the logical solve this problem and improve response time? SETLL & READ just looks at the target product records.

All advice would be appreciated, thank you

Warren