Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

WAN? VPN? Fiber? How to connect across town?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lizardkng

Technical User
Oct 21, 2002
US
I am a NT 4.0 trained MCSE, and I run a small 2k domain, 1 DC, and about 10 clients.

Our work is mission critical, as I work in the E-911 Emergency Communications field, Im the network administrator, as well as a dispatcher.

I am about to be tasked with something I have no knowledge of...

Connectivity across town with our Justice Center (jail)...they currently have what I assume is a simple workgroup, but I havent seen it yet, so I have no idea what Im about to get into...

Currently, they have an ISDN line for internet connectivity, and as far as I understand it, the Jail Management software package runs on the same network (crazy, I know, but I offered to administrate this a year and a half ago, and was basically told that I didnt know what I was talking about, by people who barely know how to turn a PC on....)

So, if I am given this task, I have to come up with some solutions.....

First thing I intend to do, is move to a w2k professional domain, however, I already have 1 w2k server in my building across town, and Im thinking that I should just use VPN, or WAN technology to just connect them to us...the two buildings are about 2-3 miles apart, driving distance...