Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

vpn server in linux

Status
Not open for further replies.

PammyBoy

Technical User
Oct 9, 2002
US
Hello All,

I'm new to linux but am intensely curious of the power it potentially could bring to my company. My company is looking for a vpn solution. We currently are running a windows 2000 server and a few remote users would like access to files on the server. I was wondering, is there a way to make a separate linux box and turn it into a VPN server and maybe a firewall? I know I could just allow remote access through the win2k server, but I want an excuse to play with linux at work.

Tom

Yes, You can install freeswan software for your linux VPN.
And you can use iptables for firewall.
Good Luck

Depending upon your security requirements, you may want to look at poptop for a VPN server ( and for a PPTP solution. FreeS/WAN ( is an IPSEC solution, so it adds packet level authentication to the picture, but is a little more difficult to deal with.

As ady2k stated, iptables/netfilter is the way to go for a firewall. As an added bonus, it is included with most (all?) current distros. There are several graphical interfaces avaiable, but you will be better serverd long term by learning to write the rules without the limits of these tools. On a side note, some of the nice little graphical thingys use ipchains, which is somewhat dated and should be avoided.

Check out the HOWTOs at and the documentation at . I have found very useful.

Above all, avoid using the Windows box. After you get past the Linux learning curve, the other stuff is much easier to deal with on Linux than with Windows. Linux runs faster, smarter and longer.