Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VPN connection drops on contivity VPN client

Status
Not open for further replies.

tmlrno1

MIS
Oct 27, 2003
US
Hello to all,

I am a newbie to the it world and any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

We have Win2K pro computers in remote branches, presently going thru a Netgear FVS318 router connected to a speedstream 5360 dsl modem (PPPoE) (dynamic IP address). The FVS318 is strictly in use presently for internet sharing. We are using Nortel Contivity VPN Client 4.65. When we initiate a VPN session thru the client we connect to a Nortel VPN switch. We can establish a VPN connection w\o any problems. The problem is that the VPN connection drops intermittently without the VPN client being aware of the disconnect. The disconnects are at random time intervals i.e. 5 mins, 15 mins, 5 hrs, or can stay connected all day w\o a disconnect. We have had up to 5 VPN sessions running thru the router at any given time.

Has any1 had this problem ??? Can any1 shed some light on this or recommend a different router that may not have the same problems. We did do a test on a Linksys BEFSR41 Rev. 1.1 with latest firmware update and had no problems.

I apreciate any help.
Rob

I am having the same problem, little different scenario;

Many of my users, including myself have had the VPN connection just kind of get "stagnant" and stop working. Most of the users that are having the problem are on a broadband connection and using a router. I have dial up users that stay connected all day with out any problems.