Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VOIP

Status
Not open for further replies.

IPOMonkey

Programmer
Jun 18, 2003
GB
I have an IP403 and ADSL at the office.
At home i also have ADSL.
Can i connect over the internet with the manager application so I can programme my system remotley?
If i can do this then i can also use iphonemanager, provided i have a VCM installed?

I'm new to the data arena and am just playing around to see
what i can do.

You can connect to the 403 via the internet, but I'd reccommend having 2 small firewalls to set up a VPN between the 2 offices (since I handle IT services for medical groups, i'm big on security.) It also makes things a lot easier (i.e. you don't have to set up nat translations between your router at work and the 403. You don't need a VCM for phone manager. You do need a license for Phone manager Pro, but you have the functionality of phone manager lite without the license. Only when you're doing any kind of VoIP do you need a VCM (i.e. Voicemail, IP Soft/Hard Phones, Small Community Networking). If you need help selecting a firewall, let me know.

Yes you need a licence for IPPhonemanager, this is a Voip Softphone.
If you can see the IPO over the internet then you can use IPPhonemanager as if you were at home.
you can alo do almost anything else remotly that you would do on site execpt upgrade firmware or replace hardware.

Thanks but how do i connect accross the internet?
Do i need the IT manager to configure a router or
can i do it all?