Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Voip but need to dial into systems/Raz Server - need to hear dial tone

Status
Not open for further replies.

GregL123

Vendor
Feb 16, 2007
CA
Hello,

I have an issue. That is...

1 - I am thinking about going VOIP for my home phone. Possibly Majic Jack. The reason is, is because it will save me approx $700 per year as apposed to my regular POTS line.

The only problem is... with my work. I am a telecom tech and am required to be "on call" and part of being "on call" is being able to dial into systems (ie - M1's and CS1000's) via my laptop modem to troubleshoot before going to site. The only problem is, I don't know if that is possible with the Majic Jack. I did try the "Talkit" product (same idea as Majic Jack) but tried to dial into systems and could not and was told it is not supported. So, I need to know if there is something (or product ie an ATA?) that I can use that will enable me to do this. If I cannot, then I can't go VOIP.