Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VM error - Printing - Dos 6.22 - Old Clipper Software

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizL

Technical User
May 21, 2006
US
I am receiving a "vm error [5318]: dos memory error" while trying to print to a zebra printer. Recently had a software crash, had to rebuild one database (dbf) with a corrupt header. Used titanic to fix. Everything seems to work great except for printing to the zebra. I have been using the software for many years. The software company is out of business, and so is the retailer that sold it to us. I have no source code either. I have been browsing throught the .bat files to see what is set. Should I try a vmsize or another command, or am I looking in the wrong place?
Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Liz L.

Give some more information.

What OS are you running?
If available list the autoexec.bat
Do you know what version of clipper was used to compile the application?

Rob.

Hi Rob,
I am actually running a Dos 6.22 machine.
It was my father-in-laws machine, he passed away,
so I'm now taking over the software and hardware support.
I plan on upgrading as soon as I check out the drivers.
The v5demo says it was compiled with Clipper 5
and Linker Exospace 1.x

autoexec.bat
LH /L:0;1,42384 /S C:\DOS\SMARTDRV.EXE c
@ECHO OFF
PROMPT $p$g
rem PATH C:\DOS;C:\QL2FAX;C:\RM4O;C:\LANTASTI;c:\
PATH C:\DOS;C:\RM40;C:\LANTASTI;c:\
SET TEMP=C:\DOS
call startnet
RM REG2

Thank you,
Liz L

Been a while since I've seen anything like that!

Looks like you had/have a Lantastic network, not that it is likely to be the problem, although you could remove the 'call startnet' line from the autoexec.bat