Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VLAN query

Status
Not open for further replies.

wizzer

IS-IT--Management
Sep 20, 2000
GB
Hi there. I'm currently running a network with the IP range 10.0.0.1 to 10.0.3.254, with around 200 devices on the network.

We are implementing a VOIP PBX and have been advised that we should set this up using a VLAN to separate and prioritise the voice traffic on the network.

I have 2x HP ProCurve 1810G-24 switches and a Netgear GS748TP switch, which i believe all support VLANs, my plan is to put all the VOIP phones on the Netgear switch as this is a POE switch.

I've never used VLANs before so i've got a couple of questions
1) I'm running DHCP on my network via a Windows 2008 R2 server - how do i provide the VOIP VLAN with DHCP addresses - do i need to add a network card to my server, and then set up a scope in DHCP to provide addresses just to that network, and plug it into one of the VOIP VLAN ports on the switch? (I'm thinking of using IP range 10.0.10.1 to 10.0.10.254)
2) If i'm using VLANs on each of the switches, do i need to link a VOIP VLAN port on each switch together to link them?

Thanks for any advice!
James Wilson

The problem you will have is while all of these switches support VLAN and operate at layer 2, you will need a layer 3 routing device for these VLANs to communicate with each other. So to answer your questions is you did have a layer 3 device