Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

vlan consolidation & Cleanup, Voice & Data on same port

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shifu

IS-IT--Management
Apr 10, 2012
US
Hey folks,

New to this board. I did do a bit of searching, read through this article ( which VinceWhirlewind had some good insight). I am new to the HP world (Mostly light Ciscoing) so my questions may sound incorrect. Also, I inherited this setup, not my doing originally.

So, I know that you can do both data and voice on the same ethernet port. But this network was not set up that way. I have Cisco 7941's and 7906G's for phones. Data is currently on separate ports.

Now, currently, I have a Procurve 2610-48-PWR switch as the main switch configured with 3 vlans. Data, Voice, Wireless. The wireless contains 2 motorola controllers controlling about 20 AP's (inheritied as well, that's something else I'll have to ramp up on to learn). There are four other switches daisy chained via fiber off of port 52. Here's an overview, and then the relavant part of the config of this primary switch.

01-24 - Data
25-42 - Voice
43-48 - Wireless
49-51 - Not in use
52 Fiber to downstream 2610-24-PWR switch

And the actual config is as follows:

ip default-gateway 10.2.96.1
ip routing
vlan 1
name "data"
forbid 25-48
untagged 1-24
ip address 10.2.96.10 255.255.255.0
tagged 49-52
no untagged 25-48
exit
vlan 2
name "voice"
forbid 1-24,43-48
untagged 25-42
ip address 10.2.97.10 255.255.255.0
tagged 49-52
voice
exit
vlan 3
name "wireless"
untagged 43-48
ip address 10.2.98.10 255.255.255.0
tagged 49-52
exit
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 10.2.98.1

What I think I want to see is the following:

vlan 1
name "data"
untagged 1-48