Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VLAN and Trunk group configuration ???'s using different HP Procurve switches please help validate

Status
Not open for further replies.

blade1271

MIS
Jul 29, 2012
US
Hello, I'm new to VLANs and trunking and need some help. My datacenter is being moved to a new office location and I've been tasked with redesigning the network to make it more efficient. I'm using HP Procurve switches and I think I have my design set up but I'd like some validation from others that have more experience. Here's my set up:

2- HP 2910al-24G, 4- 2610-24PWR, and 1 4204vl chassis with 96 10/1000 ports.
1- Adtran router for our MPLS network, PRI for Voice, and Internet for our Office users.
1- Cisco ASA 5505 connected to a cable modem as a secondary internet gateway.

My design is as follows:

To use 1 2910al as the primary switch and create 6 VLANS, I'm thinking I'll also need to create a trunk group on this switch to connect to the other switches (Please let me know if this is correct)

VLAN1: Servers/Network Printers/ESX Hosts
VLAN2: Clients
VLAN3: Voice (Connect my PBX and voicemail server)
VLAN4: Wireless SSID for Office Users (Using Cisco WAPs)
VLAN5: Wireless SSID for Guests
VLAN6: ISCSI for SAN Backplane for VM Infrastructure

I'll use my second 2910al for VLAN1 and connect to the primary 2910 via trunk group port

Use the 4204vl for VLAN2 for the clients to connect via gigabit ethernet (Will I need to untag all the ports for each switch module to assign them to VLAN 2, except the trunk port going to the trunk group on the primary 2910?) (Untagging ports is the correct HP term for assigning ports to a specific VLAN right?)