Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Visual FoxPo under Wine HQ

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ojai Guy

Programmer
Sep 20, 2023
US
For what it is worth, I have been able to run Visual FoxPro 5 IDE under Wine 6 without any apparent problems. I am not a professional programmer so my demands on the software I write are rather tame. I have not been able to yet get VFP 9 to install as the installation requires .net which apparently is not handled by wine. Any suggestions to remedy this problem would be appreciated.
It was a shocker for Microsoft to end support for this program, as I found it to be the easiest, most effective way to write database software programs. I guess they(MS) have to make an incredibly good living.

Have you even tried? AFAIK the installation of vfp9 starts with a VFP9.HTA, that's an HTML application, I don't think that needs .NET, it might just be something special Wine didn't yet care about emulating. You can also start the setup.exe, which doesn't care for prerequisites installation, but installs the core VFP9 itself. The only actual requirement is Windows Installer. Not sure if 3 or 4, but surely an older version than the current one. I don't think this older version of Windows Installer has .NET dependencies.