Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Visual class from a form?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bironman

Programmer
Jul 27, 1999
EC
I have a form with methods and propperties that I want to use in the rest of the forms of my application. Can I create a *visual class* from this form?<br>
<br>
I'm new in VB6. With VFP (and other OOP languages) this task can be done quickly and efficiently.<br>
<br>
Using Dim frmOne As New frmClass doesn't work 'cos I need instantiate the form object at *design time*.<br>
<br>
TIA

maybe I did'nt understand....for a procedure, function or any other to be visible by other forms in the app. they must be declared as public...<br>
<br>
public sub yourproc()<br>
'your code<br>
end sub<br>
<br>
or <br>
<br>
public function(your var)<br>
<br>
end function<br>
<br>

No.<br>
<br>
What I want is to INSTANTIATE a form in design time.<br>
I want a form INHERIT methods and properties from a form class in order to do all forms work the same way.<br>
Other way is cut and paste code into new forms. This is what I'm doing right now. Obviously this is not efficient.<br>
<br>
(To VFPers: I can do this task by selecting the form and doing "Save as class..." and instantiating new forms from this class)<br>
<br>
(excuse my bad english)<br>

you can do this by creating multiple instances of the same form...yes...I have done this with mdi creating multiple instances of the child form.<br>
<br>
Am I on the right track here?<br>
<br>
A great book for learning this is called<br>
<br>
Visual Basic Programmer's Library published by Jamsa Press

Maybe I need a book for learning english ;-)<br>
<br>