Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Visual Basic Versus Access Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

EriRobert

MIS
May 9, 2003
GB
Hello,

I'm looking for an objective comparison of the merits of Visual Basic and Access Project (I'm looking at linking with SQL Server backend).

The few comparisons I've come across seem to be from a certain camp (VB/AP) and are rather subjective depending on the writer's preference (or on what they're trying to sell).

I must confess I'm approaching this from the Access side willing to be converted to VB.

I'm not an expert in either VB or Access. Does anyone know of any sites or have any comments on the matter. From my (subjective??) point of view and impressions from others I would start with the following, but am happy to be corrected:

VB is "more" professional (can someone explain this?)
VB is faster
VB doesn't require a runtime - Access does

AP Reporting is superior
AP's continuous forms provide flexible functionality lacking from VB
AP can do anything VB can do

I appreciate any feedback

Robert

First off VB does require runtime files. However they are free to distribute, therfore no added cost. Having that said I personally prefer VB.

I find that with Access binds its controls and forms. As a result it's easy to set up but you lose complete control over your app and the data. With VB you can choose to use bound controls if you like or keep complete control over every step. Maybe that's what was meant by "more" professional. This will however require more coding. You are given the choice to bind or not.

Reporting in VB is best done with a third party tool such as crystal reports.