Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VirtualPC 2004 and win3.1 install problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveWin31

Programmer
Dec 6, 2008
US
Hi all,

Just found this great forum. I have been programming since 1976 and finally kicking and screaming I was dragged into the IBM-PC world in 1982.

I have a large flatbed plotter that has a specific win3.1 driver and I currently am running win3.1 under DOS 6.22 on a 486. Man it is slow. OK, so I tried to install w3.1 on an Intel Atom board and win3.1 went nuts with the video etc.

I thought I would then install W2K-Pro and then VirtualPC 2004 on that and finally put DOS and w3.1 within VPC. The DOS loaded and works well.

When I try to install win3.1, I get to the end of the second install disk where it launches into win3.1 Setup and asks for a Name and Company. At this point it hangs with no mouse and no flashing cursor.

I thought it might be the mouse or keyboard so I dragged out an old PC that had W2K-Pro on it and same again. Not to be deterred, I did the same with an XP-Pro and same again. All 3 machines same spot, same issues.

Can anyone shed some light here, please??????

Thanks in advance.

Dave

Thanks Freestone,

From experience and the conversations I have had with others VPC 2007 and win3.1 does not work. They have all said go back to 2004 for win3.1.

I downloaded VPC 2007 a few weeks back and it did not even get as far as VPC 2004 install for win3.1. I can't remember the problem.

The other thing is I cannot use the XP-Pro for the plotter as it is at work. I was just using to it test the install of VPC 2004 and win3.1.

Thanks for the reply and link though.