Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

View Drive Contents in A Terminal 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

AbidingDude

Programmer
Oct 7, 2012
US
Hello, so I'm relatively new to Ubuntu or Linux in general. I have computer skills but they're all Windows based. I'm comfortable doing things from the command prompt, so I'm trying to learn terminal commands in Ubuntu.

I get that Linux doesn't use drive letters. That's fine. Physical devices become abstracted to files. But how do I switch to these devices?

If I plugged in a USB drive in Windows, and wanted to see the contents, suppose it were assigned the drive letter 'G'. I would of course type:

[tt]G:
dir[/tt]

What is the Linux equivalent?
TIA

Hi

The brief :
[ul]
[li]mount it : [tt]mount [green]device_name[/green] [green]mount_point[/green][/tt][/li]
[li]list it : [tt]ls [green]mount_point[/green][/tt][/li]
[li]un-mount it : [tt]umount [green]mount_point[/green][/tt][/li]
[/ul]

For convenience you can add a line to your /etc/fstab file specifying the device name and mount point as you prefer, together with the file system on the USB ( or whatever you are mounting ). After that you can specify only the mount point for the [tt]mount[/tt] command, the other details will be taken from the fstab file.

So a typical session for me is something like this :
Code:
[blue]master #[/blue] grep usb /etc/fstab 
/dev/sdb1       /mnt/usb        vfat    user,users,noauto       0       0

[blue]master #[/blue] mount /mnt/usb

[blue]master #[/blue] ls -l /mnt/usb
-r-xr-xr-x 1 master master 225 Jan  4 1980 AUTORUN.INF

[blue]master #[/blue] umount /mnt/usb