Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VFP 8.0 vs. 6.0

Status
Not open for further replies.

shenlon

Programmer
Jul 9, 2003
US
Are there enough reasons to justify moving from Visual FoxPro 6.0 to 8.0? I haven't done any research yet, my boss just asked me if upgrading would help me out enough to be worth it. I am just learning foxpro, so I'm not engrossed in the ways 6.0 works or anything like that, so switching over would not be a major problem for me, just want to hear what you all (the experts) think about 8.0 compared to 6.0. Thanks all for your time.

The advantage of the 7/8 Intellisense alone is worth the upgrade - especially while learning the syntax of the xBase commands (after ~20 years of these variants, I'm beginning to get the "hang" of it! :)). The Document View, Code references, Object Browser and the improvements in the Debugger, also make it a great productivity enhancer.

Rick

Personnally, I consider the stability offered by the TRY...CATCH construction to be enough of a benefit to upgrade, however, I've heard too many problems with VFP 8 so far that I'm waiting for a service pack before updating: the problems basically made an actual retail release of a VFP8 produce program not-feasible.

I don't remember the specific bugs that I was most worried about (there was one in the implementation of a new feature that I had very much looked forward to using, and one new bug in an old feature that we used extensively), However, here is a reference I should have copied them to when I saw them mentioned on Tek-Tips:

shenlon (Programmer)
I agree with rgb, not for intellisene but for the other advantages that he resumed.
Regards