Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VFP 8.0 framework 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

epsison

IS-IT--Management
Jan 7, 2003
PH
I am new with VFP. Which VFP framework is better for VFP 8.0?

I've checked the websites and I found out several frameworks for VFP 8.0. These are:

1. Codemine
2. Visual FoxExpress
3. Visual ProMatrix

Please advise and I'll appreciate your expert comments on the said framework

Thanks in advance.

A lot depends on your coding style, the types of applications you normally work with, your expertise and of course how much money and time you have to spend to "learn" the framework properly. You might want to start with and follow the numerous links.

I know people who have switched between them (in some cases going exactly the opposite way as the other person did!). Some like to take advantage of new VFP features with each new release and will offer many updates - which can make it difficult to keep up. Some take a while to integrate all the new features and others stay with the "tried-and-true" techniques.

Some are easier to convert the application to use client-server data backends, and others can be used to put the application on the web with just a couple changes.

I don't believe there is a "best" one - it all depends on you and your requirements!

Rick

epsison,

First, welcome to VFP, and to the forum.

Re frameworks ... I've struggled with the same decision over the years. I finally decided not to use a commercial framework, but to develope my own simple framework, which I have done gradually over several projects.