Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

very very basic question

Status
Not open for further replies.

JamesMcG

IS-IT--Management
Jun 16, 2000
IE
I have never used perl before. I would like to state that from the offset.<br><br>ok I have been given an old system written in perl to update, the update is not all that difficult and I have gotton along pretty well on my programming fundementals, that is until now.<br><br>I am useing a case statement to find out if a number is within a certain range how can this be done?<br><br>will it be something like<br> &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;case csconitm &lt; 5<br> &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;cprice = 12<br> &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;case csconitm &gt; 4 .AND. &lt; 10<br> &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;cprice = 13<br> &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;case csconitm &gt; 9<br> &nbsp;&nbsp;cprice = 19<br><br>any help is most appreciated<br><br>Best Regards<br>James<br><br>please bear in mind I have no books or help files.<br><br><br>