Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Very Simple App Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

tommill

Technical User
Sep 15, 2015
GB
I am a newbie to apps and androids and what I need is (I think) very simple. I need an app that, when the scan button is pressed, will use the in-built 1D laser reader (ie not the camera) in my Gen2Wave RP1300 unit to scan a simple barcode and save it, and when the button is pressed again, scan another one and save that, and so on. The user then needs to be able to select an option that will export the records saved to a text file that has a date and time stamp as part of its name. When the device is replaced in its stand, the file can be read off using a Windows program (that bit I know how to do).

There is a 'free' version of 'barcode2file' that does exactly this. The problem with it is that it is continuously scanning (ie not using the scan button) and this means the user continuously scans the same barcode if he doesnt move off it quick enough.

It may be that I am missing a setting in the RP1300 unit, but I can't see how to suppress automatic and continuous scanning, which makes me think it is a 'feature' of barcode to file app.

Can anyone help with advice on this, in either fixing the continuous scan on this app, or with offering a better solution? Please remember, I am a newbie to Androids and not a programming techie.

Many thanks

Certain parts of what you are looking for are not too difficult.

Creating an app that has buttons to control something is relatively easy.
What those buttons do is also relatively easy to accomplish.

The biggest challenge is controlling your 1D Laser Reader.