Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Veritas Backup Exec 9.1 - Weekly Backups based on Quarterly backup?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AndyDixon

Technical User
Feb 14, 2006
GB
Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to Backup Exec, and have a question regarding

we are using Veritas Backup Exec 9.1.

The previous Backup Admin somehow had Backup Exec set up to perform full (normal) backups every Thurs evening based on the data backed up in our quarterly backup (which backs up everything). We also do Differential backups Mon > wed and Fri.

Our external IT Consultant has informed me that this is a feature of Backup Exec but cannot remember how it is done.

I'm not sure if this was the way the system was set up, however, our normal (weekly) backups used to be around 30GB wheras now they are 63GB. THis is causing me to have to continue the backup in the morning by changing our tapes over as they only hold 40GB uncompressed.

Is there a way to do this?

Any help would be appreciated. And I apologise in advance if this post doesn't make sense.

Andy

...perform full (normal) backups every Thurs evening based on the data backed up in our quarterly backup (which backs up everything).
I'm not sure what you mean by this. Full backups are not "based" on anything except the selection list. Every file in the selection list is backed up regardless of if or when it has been backed up before.

Can you describe what types of jobs are running in what order in more detail?

Whats your rate of change on the data that you are backing up?

Switch to incremental instead of diffs

PinnacleData Systems (UK)