Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VC++ Get Current Time

Status
Not open for further replies.

dkennington

Programmer
Jul 11, 2006
US
I have two pieces of equipment that run on different software and I need to sync them up.

I'm using VC++6 on Windows XP, and I need to do a time delay so that they alternate their task by a second or two.

I've tried normal time delays, except the programs always slowly get out of phase and then they end up trying to write/read a file at the same time and they crash.

The only way I can think of doing this is by using the current date and time on the computer. Except I have no idea how to do this? I'm not a programmer, so could you be very specific on what I need to type and include?

Please help,
Thanks,
Dave

Well first, do you have the source code for the 2 programs, or are you trying to keep them in sync through a 3rd program that you're writing?

Do the programs run continuously, or are you trying to alternate running one, then the other...?

I have two pieces of equipment, each was provided with software to run them. One uses VC++6 and it has the source code, and the other uses LabView, which isn't C++ at all, I'll have to figure out how to get this to sync up myself.

Both programs will be running seperatly and continuously but at the same time. One program reads an image file, which modifies a laser. The second program then analysis the change and writes a new image file based on the data.

So one program is continuously writing to an image file while the other is continuously reading that same file.

If read and write happen at same time, *error*, no more continuous run.