Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

vbscript split array question

Status
Not open for further replies.

jarves123

Systems Engineer
Apr 10, 2019
PH
Hi,

I have a vbscript that runs the command "netsh dhcp server scope show clients 1" and captures and reads its output line by line and Split each line and stores it into array elements. The only separate that seems plausible to use is the dash "-".
The output of netsh dhcp server scope show client 1 is this:

10.228.64.11 - 255.255.255.0 - 54-e1-ad-f6-a8-1d -4/16/2019 9:49:27 AM -D- 1077419.abc.com

i can use the split function like the one below but the problem is that the 3rd column has lots of "-" which is part of one element. So using "-" as separate will not be a good idea.
splitLine = Split(scopeArray(scopeItem),"-")

How should I approach this?

What about using " - " instead (and continue processing of third item if necessary)? Split is not limited to single character delimiter.

combo

I tried it already but there are entries like the one below having several spaces before the "-" then there is one with no space before and after "-"

10.228.164.0 - 255.255.255.128-Active -Sample test-CNC000000123

What output you expect? Trim, InStr, InstrRev can be used to process the string, but string structure rules have to be clear.

combo

I tried it already but there are entries like the one below having several spaces before the "-" then there is one with no space before and after "-"

You'll need to search and replace in order to end up with " - "

For instance search for " -" replace with " -". Run until no replacements.

Then do it on the right side of the dash.

Skip,
[sub]
[glasses]Just traded in my OLD subtlety...