Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VBA - Problems Creating new sheets inside a Excel workbook

Status
Not open for further replies.

Knutjo

Programmer
Jan 15, 2002
NO
Inside an existing Excel workbook i have an existing "master" sheet. This sheet I want to copy a number of times inside the workbook.

Every time I reach 60 sheets inside my workbook I get "Subscript out of range (Error 9)".

I have made a smal macro which look like this doing the creation of all the sheets:

Sub AppendSheet()
Worksheets("ANLEGG-Utstyrstype MASTER").Copy after:=Worksheets(Worksheets.Count)
End Sub

Is this some (for me unknown) limitation in VBA/Excel or am I doing something wrong ?

Hi Knutjo,

I'm afraid I haven't solved the problem. However I ran the following code:

Sub AppendSheet()

For i = 1 To 100

Worksheets("ANLEGG-Utstyrstype MASTER").Copy after:=Worksheets(Worksheets.Count)

Next i

End Sub

and it worked fine, I'm using excel 97 on a win 98 platform.

So it doesn't seem to be a VBA limitation.

The only time I could replicate the error you found was if I deleted the original master sheet (or re-named it) then the code can't find 'ANLEGG-Utstyrstype MASTER' as it no longer exists.....

Hope this gives you a clue

Regards

Dan

Hi Knutjo,

My hunge is that you run into a problem with the VBA code name of your sheets. These progressively increase to a maximum of some 35 characters or so. Check the project explorer to see the code names.

HTH

ilses

I suspect ilses is correct, as when you copy a worksheet excel just appends an additionall 1 to the codename, so that you get a string on 1's and eventually they exceed excel's tolerance. A bad design flaw.