Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VB6 Novice - Populating a Combo Box

Status
Not open for further replies.

KenReay

Programmer
Aug 15, 2002
GB
Hi

I am a complete VB6 Novice, although experienced in Access/VBA.

Could someone explain how I populate a Combo box from a table.

In Access I can set the rowsourec to an SQL string, is a similar facility available in VB6?, or must I use AddItem?

Thanks in Advance Regards

Ken Reay
Freelance Solutions Developer
Boldon Information Systems Ltd
Website needs upgrading, but for now - UK

Try using a data combo (components - Microsoft DataList Controls 6.0)

These have rowsource, datasource etc

Hi

Thanks for that.

I had located the controls you mentioned.

I have placed an ADO Datacontrol on the form, set the Datasource and recordsource.

I have tested this worked by putting a bound textbox on my form, with datasource of my ADO Datacontrol, and Datafiedl set to a column in the recordsource of the datacontrol. If I move through the record set, using the datacontrol navigation buttons then the data in the etxt box changes as you would expect.

For my combo I have set the Datasource to the ADO Datacontrol, and the DataField to a column in the ADODatacontrol.

When I run the form, there is nothing in the dropdown list of the combo, but the text property shows the current value of the column and changes as I advance through the recordset using the ADODatacontrol navigation buttons.

I probably doing something basicly stupid, but I just cannot see what it is.

Any suggestions? Regards

Ken Reay
Freelance Solutions Developer
Boldon Information Systems Ltd
Website needs upgrading, but for now - UK